Located on a ridge of the Catoctin Mountains on 10 acres of beautiful countryside, Stone Gables Bed & Breakfast is the ideal location to explore all that Loudoun County has to offer. From wine/beer/cider tasting, hiking, biking, shopping, dining or simply getting away from the hustle and bustle, let us plan your perfect vacation or event.

Converted into a magnificent home from one of the last stone-gable barns in the county, dating from 1823, our rooms offer luxurious comfort and each with a unique style. 

In the early 18th century, this part of Loudoun County was a collection of homesteads and small farms rented and owned by Quaker pioneers who migrated to Virginia from Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey and by others from Virginia’s Northern Neck counties. 

Eva Kaufmann’s 1986 research compiled an impressive history of the Loudoun Orchard valley area around the current Stone Gables property. “Our Loves To You All” is a well-documented ancestral history based on a unique collection of letters sent between Eva’s ancestors, whose family owned the extended property for 245 years ending in 1983. The extended property centered around “a modest frontier plantation house, it’s surrounding appurtenances and acres” and included barns and the springhouse (which still exists on our neighbor’s yard).  

In 1761, the first ancestral owner, Richard White, bought the initial 192-acre plot from Lord Fairfax’s estate lands. The first letter dated December 8, 1804 was written by Levi White, the grandson of Richard White. At the time of the letter some of the White family had already migrated to Tennessee. Richard White’s “partner” was Rebecca White, born 1723, who lived to the age of 94.  Daniel White, the third child of Richard and Rebecca was born in 1755. It’s believed that the land southwest of the Route 662 and 704 (Loudoun Orchard and Harmony Church) belonged to Daniel’s side of the family. By 1817, Daniel had died and his father’s estate was deeded to his brother Benjamin, this amounted to 500 acres that included the original 192 acres and presumably included the present area.  

Mount Gilead was the closest community resembling an actual village or town. As with most of the land in this part of Loudoun County, ownership also originated from Lord Fairfax land grants beginning in 1742. The official “settlement of Mount Gilead” was established in 1823, the same year that the original Stone Gables barn was built. The settlement was mostly a dream of Dr. Isaac Eaton, who sold small plots along Mount Gilead road. By 1860 the Eaton’s businesses had failed and the idea of a thriving town had died.  

Slavery was common practice in this part of Virginia. Dr. Eaton’s taxable property records included slaves during the 1850s (two or three). 

There was limited Civil War activity in the immediate area. Research shows that the Loudoun Rangers (the only Virginia unit that served with the Union) was actively conducting raids on local Confederate units, most notably the raid on Captain Simpson’s recruiting effort on Mount Gilead that resulted in Simpson’s death and the confiscation of Confederate recruiting funds. Another skirmish took place in the same area later in the War when Union General Hooker’s encampment on Mount Gilead was raided by local confederate units. Another source claimed that Lee’s Army retreated down Mount Gilead road after the battle of Gettysburg (possibly using Loudoun Orchard road as well).  Colonel John Mosby and his “raiders” were highly active in the Mount Gilead area as well. It is said he hid supplies throughout the ridge. Many houses in the area were destroyed as part of the Union’s campaign to rid the Confederate army’s use of the Shenandoah Valley as a supply line and refuge. The fighting was chaotic at times. 

Most of the history since the Civil War is documented around Mount Gilead proper, just south of Stone Gables. By now, this was not a town but a collection of residences. In the 1970s several artists were living along Mount Gilead road. In 1980 the Willowcroft vineyards were established and three years later Loudoun County’s first winery was operating. The winery is about one mile from Stone Gables and makes for a good workout hike (and presumably back).

To read more about this area, we have a history and heritage book in our library, written by William Ray.

Our Loves to you all, White Family Letters 1804-1830, Eva E. Kaufmann, 1986
Mount Gilead, History & Heritage, William C. Ray, United Graphics, 2010.